Posted in Recipes

Homemade Salsa

This salsa is scrumptious and best of all, it is made with all natural ingredients!   Here is how I made it:

2 tubs of grape tomatoes

1 small red onion

1 jalapeno (2 if you like a little spice in your life)

1 bunch of cilantro

2 limes

2 tablespoons of crushed garlic

1 splash of hot sauce

Salt and pepper to taste

IMG_0477

I started by quartering the grape tomatoes.

IMG_0480

Then I finely chopped the red onion. Next, add both of these ingredients to a mixing bowl.

Then I finely chopped the jalapeno.  (Take caution when cutting a jalapeno.  If you don’t wash your hands immediately, your skin can start to burn.)  I cut off the stem and then cut the jalapenos in half.

IMG_0482

I made sure to remove the seeds.  The seeds add a lot of heat, so I make sure I dispose of them.

IMG_0483

I finely chop the jalapenos and add them to the mix.

IMG_0485

Next, comes the cilantro. Most people have either a love or hate relationship with cilantro, and I happen to love it.  After I finely chop the cilantro I toss it in the bowl.

IMG_0486

It’s really starting to look yummy!  Now, you will need some lime juice.  I cut two limes in half and squeeze all the juice into the bowl.  I have a handy  lime/lemon squeezer, but you can also use a fork.  Just insert the fork into the halved lime and twist.  It will definitely help squeeze all of the deliciousness out of the lime.

My handsome beagle, Murphy is trying to photo bomb my picture.  Or maybe he just thinks he’s getting a bite.  Ha!

IMG_0488

I finished by adding a couple of dashes of hot sauce and salt and pepper to taste.  Chill this for an hour for better flavor.  This salsa is a must for Taco Tuesdays at our house.  You can also add a couple of chopped avocados for a yummy guacamole.  Ole!

IMG_0490

 

 

 

 

 

Author:

Hi everyone! I am Katherine. I live in the Sunshine State of Florida. I am a wife, mom and now a blogger! I also work a full time job, so needless to say, my life is quite busy! I am so excited to share my love for DIY, recipes, organization and so much more. Thank you for stopping by the blog and welcome!

Leave a comment