Posted in Home Improvement

Laundry Room Cabinet

Our house is builder grade, so I am always trying to customize it anyway I can.  This cabinet was a upgrade option when we purchased the house, but the builder was asking a ridiculous price, so we decided to add it ourselves.  We purchased the cabinet at Home Depot.  We were also able to purchase a premade countertop.  We chose an unfinished cabinet, because it was about $100 cheaper.

IMG_2368

Here is a before picture of the countertop:

IMG_2367

Even though it was only a laundry room cabinet, I still wanted the finish to look nice.  That’s why I chose to spray paint it instead of using a brush.

IMG_2370

As you can see, it has a lot of room to store all my stuff.  I love the drawer.

IMG_2379

Here is the space that the cabinet needed to go.  This is directly behind my door in the laundry room.  I think it was a great spot for some storage.

I took the drawer and doors off of the cabinet and took them outside to paint.  I was careful to only paint the outside.  Since it is going in a nook in my laundry room, I didn’t really need to paint the sides of the cabinet.

 

After the paint was dry, we installed the cabinet into the space.  My hubby helped with this.  He found the studs on the wall and anchored the cabinet to the studs. Then we used a circular saw and cut the countertop to size. We used adhesive to glue down the countertop and caulked it in.

And here is the finished product!!

IMG_2800

I love it!  It gives me so much storage in my laundry room.  It ended up costing us around $200 for everything, which I thought was a deal.  The builder was going to charge $800 for this.  I think we made the right choice.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author:

Hi everyone! I am Katherine. I live in the Sunshine State of Florida. I am a wife, mom and now a blogger! I also work a full time job, so needless to say, my life is quite busy! I am so excited to share my love for DIY, recipes, organization and so much more. Thank you for stopping by the blog and welcome!

Leave a comment